• Post Falls Dam

  • Photographed by Tom Holman

The trail that Captain Meriwether Lewis and Captain William Clark followed weaved its way through Idaho. Thirty-three people traveled with them into unknown territory, starting near what is now known as Wood River, Illinois in 1804, reaching the Pacific Ocean in 1805 and returning in 1806. Today's trail follows their route as closely as possible given the changes over the years. It is approximately 3,700 miles long, beginning near Wood River, Illinois, and passes through portions of Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The Lewis & Clark NHT does not have a formal visitor center along any portion of the trail. Various organizations and individuals are responsible for trail stewardship with oversight provided by the Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail office.

Trail Map

Lewis and Clark in Idaho

Plan a trip along the Lewis and Clark trail in Idaho, the homeland of Sacajawea. Includes maps and information on the Nez Perce, Lemhi Shoshoni, and Salish tribes.

Visit Idaho Falls and view the Lewis & Clark exhibit at the Museum of Idaho and you will travel back 200 years and rediscover some of what the Corps of Discovery encountered on their expedition through Idaho. Featured is a Lemhi Shoshone village, including a brain-tanned buffalo hide tipi, a bull boat and more than 100 Indian and Lewis & Clark items of that time.

Officially Designated Lewis and Clark National Historic Water Trails

Spanning over 3,700 miles and connecting 11 states, the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail is home to some of the most gorgeous and spectacular landscapes in America. While most visitors travel the trail by car, there are numerous recreational opportunities to enjoy the trail by river. There are six designated water trails along the Lewis and Clark Trail, including the Missouri River Water Trail in Missouri; the Missouri National Recreational River Water Trail in Nebraska and South Dakota; the Upper Missouri Breaks Water Trail in Montana; the Jefferson River Canoe Trail in Montana; the Northwest Discovery Water Trail in Idaho, Washington, and Oregon; and the Lower Columbia Water Trail in Washington and Oregon.

Print Email